CIWM WAMITAB Qualifications: COTC, OCC & Level 1 to 4

CIWM and WAMITAB logos

If you need to complete an accredited CIWM / WAMITAB course, Learning Light is an approved training centre that provides waste management qualifications at Level 1, 2, 3 and 4. This includes the OCC (Operator Competence Certificate).

The most popular of these training courses is the CIWM / WAMITAB Level 4 qualification, which is often referred to as the CoTC – Certificate of Technical Competence. Every waste management or recycling facility must have an accredited professional working on site for at least 20% of the time.

This must be someone who has the required training, knowledge and skill to govern safe working procedures.


WAMITAB is now integrated into the CIWM – Chartered Institution of Wastes Management – so any qualifications completed or in progress are equally recognised by all bodies.

CIWM WAMITAB qualifications demonstrate that you have the level of knowledge and skills required for ensuring that a waste site fully complies with the Environmental Permitting Regulations (2007).


CIWM / WAMITAB Approved Centre

Learning Light is an approved CIWM / WAMITAB Centre providing Statutory and Non-Statutory (Voluntary) qualifications that are listed on the Quality Curriculum Framework (QCF).

We offer accredited training that is evidenced by the learner with traditional paperwork, but we are also able to deliver the WAMITAB / CIWM qualification online if you prefer. An on-site assessor visit is required at the start and final assessment, plus any additional points in the process where support is required.

This can make WAMITAB training much more convenient for the learner and much less disruptive for the employer.

As well as making training and assessments as convenient as possible alongside your work, we ensure that WAMITAB and CIWM courses with Learning Light are competitively priced.


Site Owners / Managers

If you do not hold a CoTC, you or a designated person will be required to demonstrate competence based on the Risk Tier for your facility.


High risk

Typical businesses are full-service waste transfer stations, including those that deal with hazardous waste, such as asbestos.
You will be required to achieve a 12 Unit QCF qualification.
£2987 including learner registration, training and assessment.


Medium risk

Typical companies are non-hazardous waste transfer stations, such as car breakers.
You will be required to achieve a 6 Unit QCF qualification.
£1793 including learner registration, training and assessment.


Low risk

Such as scrap dealers and rock or metal recovery companies.
You will be required to achieve a 4 Unit QCF qualification.
£1395 including learner registration, training and assessment.

All prices are exclusive of VAT.


Please note – assessors will be travelling from Sheffield and travel time is charged at £35 per hour and £0.45 per mile. Travel and mileage is not subject to VAT.
We make every effort to ensure that travel time is kept to a minimum. 

For more information, Contact Us at Learning Light for a no-obligations discussion about your needs.


We have provided CIWM / WAMITAB training and qualifications in most regions of the UK:

  • Scotland
  • Northern Ireland
  • East of England, including Cambridgeshire and Norfolk
  • Midlands – including Birmingham, Shropshire and Staffordshire in the West Midlands, and Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire and Nottinghamshire in the East Midlands
  • Yorkshire (North, South, East, West) – including Leeds, Bradford and Wakefield in West Yorkshire, and Sheffield in South Yorkshire
  • North East – including Tyne & Wear, Northumberland and County Durham
  • North West – including Manchester, Cheshire, Lancashire and Liverpool / Merseyside
  • South East – including London, Essex and Hampshire.

Please email for more information or call us on: 0114 307 2358 to check on the right course for your role and facility.

Learning Light is CIWM & WAMITAB approved centre number 139/88.


Can We Help You?

Get in touch for an initial, no-obligation chat about your waste management training needs.

Contact Us at Learning Light

Just Need the Continuing Competence / CoTC Refresher?

The WAMITAB Continuing Competence – also known as the CoTC Refresher course – is conducted directly through the WAMITAB website and is bookable online here.